Aisbitt claims second Cleveland Salver title

Brancepeth Castle’s Richard Aisbitt got his season off to a perfect start with victory in the Cleveland Salver.

Richard posted rounds of 68 and 70 over the Teesside links to lead the elite field of amateurs and win the event for a second time following his victory in 2017. James Glenn finished in second place with rounds of 69 and 70 as Sam Bairstow finished third after rounds of 68 and 71.

Past champions in the event include European Tour winner Chris Paisley (2010) and Walker Cup player Alex Fitzpatrick (2018).

*Richard is pictured above (left) receiving the trophy in 2017.