2020 club champions crowned across the region

Our region’s best club golfers have lifted club championship trophies this summer – here are some of the winners so far.

David Moralee added to his remarkable record at Heworth Golf Club by winning his 15th club championship title. David won his first title in 1979 and has now won the club’s biggest event in six different decades.

At Wynyard Golf Club, where club competitions are played in mixed fields, Shannon O’Dwyer became the club’s first ever female club champion with a round of 67 giving her a five-shot victory.

Annette Walton also added to her record with a 17th ladies club championship victory at Consett & District Golf Club as Ryan Blemings won the men’s club championship for a second time, and Stephen Turnbull won the club’s junior title.

Steve Slater picked up his first win at the age of 60 in City of Newcastle Golf Club’s men’s championship. At Hobson Golf Club, Stuart Ord claimed the club’s top prize, 23 years after his last victory.

Northumberland and Durham’s county champions picked up their respective club tittles as Close House’s James Wilson led a top-class field with an eight under-par total and Bishop Auckland’s James Glenn won his home club’s men’s championship with a score of two under-par.

A number of county players also picked up wins in their respective club championships. Maggie Whitehead added to her list of achievements with a four-shot victory in Close House’s ladies club championship while Durham’s Cameron Wallace and Martin McCririck won the men’s titles at Cleveland and South Shields respectively. 

Adam Rochester lifted the Blackwell Grange men’s title as Rebecca Gibson won the ladies club championship trophy. At Longhirst, Carl Brydon won the club’s top prize while Lee Matthewson won his first club championship title at Backworth Golf Club.

At Alnmouth Golf Club, Joe Henderson won the club championship title while Kev Harmison (Newbiggin), Ryan Howe (Richmond) and Libby Bell (Gosforth Park Ladies) won their respective club championships. 

There were also wins for Joe McStravick at Ponteland Golf Club, Dom Lee at Stocksfield Golf Club and Robert Hillier at Teesside Golf Club.