Men’s league champions crowned across North East

The winners of the five men’s golf leagues across the North East have been crowned, with the teams now set to compete at Burgham Park on Sunday September 10 for the Dixon Cup.

In the Newcastle & District Golf League, the season came down to the final green in the final match, as City of Newcastle and The Northumberland went head-to-head. Having gone into the final week of the season level on points, Northumberland – playing at home – came out on top with a narrow 7-5 victory to win the league for the first time since 1968. Newbiggin, Whitley Bay and Backworth earned promotion for 2024; while Tynemouth, Westerhope and Morpeth were relegated from division one.

In the Hadrian League, Slaley Hall completed an emphatic victory – topping the table with 136 points and averaging more than nine points from a possible 12 per game. They also picked up the Davison Cup – an inter-club knockout played between the Hadrian and North Northumberland teams – with a 5-0 win over Bedlingtonshire in the final at Matfen Hall.

The North Northumberland Golf League was won by Dunstanburgh Castle, who topped the table by just four points following a 10-2 win on the last night of the season. Bamburgh Castle finished in second place, while Wooler won the Members League.

Durham City maintained their dominance of the North Durham Union of Golf Clubs League, topping division one for the third consecutive year. They will defend the Dixon Cup at Burgham Park in September. Meanwhile, Houghton-le-Spring won division two and earned promotion alongside Seaham. Beamish Park won division three and will move up next season along with Wearside.

Finally, Bishop Auckland have been crowned Teesside Union of Golf Clubs League champions with an emphatic lead in division one with one round of matches to be played. The remaining round of fixtures will confirm the teams promoted and relegated in divisions in each division.