McCririck and Marshall win Durham honours

South Shields’ Martin McCririck successfully defended the Durham County Golf Union’s Order of Merit title, as Heworth’s Will Marshall was crowned County Player of the Year for 2022.

Martin, who collected the trophy for a third time following his wins in 2013 and 2021, led the 100-strong order of merit race with 1,005 points from the 11 qualifying events – including the county strokeplay and matchplay championships as well as scratch events at nine clubs.

Martin – who won the county matchplay title – led the pack with Will finishing 30 points behind as Wynyard’s Jack Ainscough was third. 

Meanwhile, Will led the scoring in the County Player of the Year standings, where players earn points for their performances in the two county championships as well as Northern Counties League matches and the Northern Counties Qualifying Championship (AKA The Big Six). Will’s 1,150 points saw him finish 65 points clear of South Shields’ Ben Willis.

The results of the points races were confirmed following the final two events of the season. In the Bishop Auckland Bowl, Jamie Birkbeck retained the trophy by winning an 18-hole playoff with James Glenn and Martin after the three posted eight under-par totals for two rounds. Meanwhile, Will almost caught Martin in the Order of Merit at the final event as he ultimately finished second in the Northern Golf Masters at Rockliffe Hall.