Ryder Cup heroes honoured with Golf Writers trophy

Europe’s winning Ryder Cup team, captained by Luke Donald, has been awarded the Association Golf Writers (AGW) Golf Writers Trophy for 2023.

Members of the association voted to honour the team following their victory over the United States at Marco Simone in Italy.

The 73rd annual award was presented to the team, marking the seventh time since 1985, and first time since 2006, that the European Ryder Cup team has been honoured with the trophy.

“On behalf of the team, I can say that each and every one of us is delighted to have been voted as the winners of this year’s AGW Golf Writers Trophy”, said Luke. “One of the things I was most proud of at Marco Simone was the culture we created within the group, where everyone was valued and everyone played their part in such a memorable triumph. It is therefore highly appropriate that we have won this as a group too. I was honoured to win this prestigious award in the past as part of the successful European teams of both 2004 and 2006, as well as individually in 2011, and I am as grateful now as I was on those occasions. Myself and the players recognise and appreciate the important role the golf writers play in our business, both promoting the sport and telling our stories. These are the people who really know what professional golf is all about, and to be recognised by them makes it doubly special.”

Association chairman Phil Reid added: “The European team under Luke’s tremendous leadership and dedication added yet another memorable chapter in the long history of the Ryder Cup. As the award honours the European Ryder Cup team, the association also congratulates the work of Luke’s backroom team along with the tremendous support of all those at the European Tour. The closeness of the vote among the members of the association also reflected what a wonderful European golfing year it has been for both the professional and amateur game.”

The 2023 vote was a close one, with writers also acknowledging the achievements of Masters champion Jon Rahm, Europe’s Solheim Cup team, the European Junior Ryder Cup team, Rory McIlroy, Celine Boutier, Ludvig Aberg, and Viktor Hovland this season.