Three Champion of Champions events set to open the 2022 season

The Northern Golfer Champion of Champions events, presented in partnership with Brewin Dolphin, will return to open the region’s golfing calendar in 2022.

The Men’s event will take place at Longhirst Hall on Saturday April 23 while the Ladies and Junior events will take place at George Washington on Monday May 2.

Open to club champions crowned in the 2021 calendar year, entries for the event will open later this season. Thanks to the support of Brewin Dolphin, one of the largest British investment management and financial planning firms, there is no charge for competitors for these 18-hole tournaments.

The Northern Golfer Champion of Champions events welcome an elite field of amateur golfers from across the North of England. The events – for men, women and juniors – will be open to club champions crowned in 2021 from clubs in Northumberland, Co Durham and Teesside along with selected clubs in the Borders, Cumbria and Yorkshire within Northern Golfer’s circulation area. The region’s best amateur golfers have lifted the trophies since Northern Golfer launched the junior event in 2015, following the success of that tournament with the launch of the ladies event and the relaunch of the Men’s Champion of Champions in 2017.

In 2019, Whickham’s Faye Wheatley won the ladies title as Tyneside’s James Wilson won his second Junior Champion of Champions, and Garforth’s Josh Bassitt won the men’s title.

Invites will be emailed to clubs later this season, when champions will be asked to register online.


Tickets booked

Following championships at clubs across the region, a number of players have earned an invitation to next year’s Northern Golfer Champion of Champions events.

Thomas Harbord earned two invitations following his victories in the men’s championships at Wynyard and Castle Eden – winning over extra holes at Wynyard following his victory at Castle Eden with rounds of 69 and 67.

Houghton-le-Spring’s Emily Baxter (ladies) and John Ellison (men’s) have also earned invitations alongside Consett’s Sophie Murray (ladies) and Luke Bonser (juniors).

Crook’s John Howarth added a seventh consecutive men’s club championship title, and his ninth in total, to his trophy cabinet, while Catterick’s Ian Doughty also took his tally of men’s club championships to nine.

Meanwhile, Matthew Stewart joined his father Andrew and uncle Ian in lifting the club championship trophy at Beamish Park.

Daniel Norman won his second men’s club championship at Teesside with an impressive 12-shot margin of victory, while Bellingham’s Jack Johnstone matched his home club’s 15-year-old course record (63) en-route to winning the men’s championship.

Northumberland’s Paul Caldicott went to the 38th hole to win his club’s biggest event, while Chris Graham lifted the men’s title at Whitley Bay, and Gary Donnison won the men’s title at Gosforth. Stephen Brooks lifted the men’s title at Blyth, while Stephen Cram won the men’s title at Stocksfield, and George Armstong won Prudhoe’s men’s championship. Bedlingtonshire’s club championships went to Craig Taylor (men’s), Susan Gibbard (ladies) and Ben Brown (juniors). Junior titles have also been won by Tom Hartshorne (Teesside) and Christian Harrison (Whickham).

In Durham, men’s titles have been awarded to Cameron Wallace (Cleveland), Richard Robson (Birtley), Jamie Birkbeck (Bishop Auckland), Lewis Rowley (Blackwell Grange), Adam Wooler (Whitburn), John Kirkpatrick (Ramside), Will Skipp (Eaglescliffe), Kris Rae (Tyneside) and Dan Fox (Brancepeth).

In Northumberland, men’s titles went to Steve Anderton (Backworth), Russell Hayhoe (Ponteland), Andy Cunningham (Arcot Hall) and Richie Rutherford (Allendale). Meanwhile, ladies club championships have been won by Michelle Leatherland (Teesside), Barbara Sawyer (Whitley Bay) and Sally Connor (Blackwell Grange).

For more information on Northern Golfer events, contact Dean Bailey,