League champions

City of Newcastle Golf Club capped a Newcastle & District League-winning season with victory in the Dixon Cup at Burgham Park.

The event saw the winners of the Hadrian, North Northumberland, North Durham Union of Golf Clubs, Teesside Union of Golf Clubs and Newcastle & District leagues compete for the title – with City of Newcastle shooting a six-man team total of 460 to beat second-placed Bishop Auckland by five shots.

City of Newcastle lifted the Newcastle & District title for the second year in a row with a 6-6 draw with Northumberland on the final night of matches – beating second placed Prudhoe by 15 points to retain the trophy. Prudhoe’s Ben Lee was named player of the year having earned 25 points this season.

In the Hadrian League, Newcastle United stormed to the title ahead of Close House while adding the league’s knock-out competition, the Davison Cup, to the trophy cabinet in the club’s 125th year.

Club captain Liam McNulty said: “Having been starved of success over the years it has been great to achieve the league and cup double in our anniversary year. It was great to have such a strong squad of players at my disposal throughout the season, whose attitude and team spirit have been exemplary. Having been pushed all the way by Close House, it was great to finally get over the line with one game to spare.

“I know the success has meant a great deal to the lads as most of us have been at the club since our teenage years.”

In the Teesside Union League, the Bishop Auckland team picked up their third title in six years while also winning the Durham County Union’s Clark Cup with a 3-2 victory over Wynyard in the final at Tyneside.

Despite starting the year with a 14-10 defeat at Cleveland in the Teesside Union League, Bishop were top of the table after just three weeks and held off Eaglescliffe to win division one by just two points.

Teesside claimed the division two title while Wilton secured the third division trophy.

Durham City topped the North Durham Union of Golf Clubs league with 10 wins this season – beating Heworth by three points to claim the title as Brancepeth Castle won division two and Hobson won the third division.

In the North Northumberland League, Berwick Golf Club (Goswick) won the division one title ahead of Alnmouth. Alnwick won the second division trophy ahead of Warkworth as Alnmouth Village won the third division ahead of Linden Hall.