Wilson triumphs

Andrew Wilson equalled the Rotherham course record on his way to winning the prestigious Lee Westwood Trophy.

The Darlington-based England A squad member played an almost flawless first round with seven birdies and an eagle, with just one dropped shot on the 17th on his way to an eight under-par 62 – but it was almost not enough to win the trophy despite holding a five-stroke lead going into the final round.

Wilson followed his first round 62 with rounds of 71 and 70, and appeared to be cruising in the last round until late drama almost snatched victory from his hands.

He dropped shots on the 14th, 15th and 16th holes to suddenly find himself one behind Fulford’s Charlie Thornton in the group ahead.

However, Thornton accidentally stood on his own ball while searching in the rough just behind the 17th green and incurred a one shot penalty – the frustration leading to three putts and the triple bogey ended his chances.

Wilson, watching on the fairway behind, was unsure of the events ahead but he concentrated on making birdie to resume control and a steady par down the last secured a 73 and a four shot victory with a four under-par total of 276.

Playing off plus-four, Wilson said: “I’m delighted with the way I played. I’ve been seeing coach Graham Walker recently and that has helped a lot.

“It was pleasing to equal the course record although, in a way, I’m disappointed to have been caught out by the wind on the 17th and ending up with a bogey from 130 yards. After that opening round I played pretty solidly and did what I had to do, although the bad run on the back nine of the final round nearly saw all the effort wasted.

“It brought so many players back into it, but I had a solid finish to the round so I’m very pleased.”

The Lee Westwood Trophy is one of England’s top amateur events. Officially known as The Rotherham Golf Club Open Strokeplay Championship, the annual World Amateur Golf Ranking 72-hole event is one of the year’s highlights.

Lee’s mum, Trish, always presents the prizes and former winners include European Tour player and BMW International Open champion David Horsey and one of the finest amateur golfers England has ever produced in Gary Wolstenholme.