Simon Lee Welsh Mid-Amateur

Simon Lee wins Welsh Mid-Amateur

Newcastle United’s Simon Lee produced three excellent rounds in tough conditions to win the Welsh Mid-Amateur Championship at Aberdovey.

Simon, who won the men’s Champion of Champions in 2008, shot rounds of 73, 71 and 74 to lead the field in Wales by three shots as Stand-based Gary Spann finished second.

Meanwhile, Jason Saunders (Windlesham) won the seniors’ gross title, Darren Rix (Norwood Park) won the mid-am nett, and Danny Procter (Stockport) won the seniors’ nett prize.

For full results, click here.